Power: Women in Production

Whoever said it’s a mans world, told a damn lie. Here are five powerful, fabulous women taking charge in an industry that is predominately male.

[singlepic id=1835 w=520 h=440 float=center]

Norris Bentivegna; Segment Producer

[singlepic id=1836 w=520 h=440 float=left]

1. What’s your AMMO?

Working as a freelance producer may be one of the most insecure jobs out there… you never know what your next project will be and where it’s going to take you. That being said, my AMMO is to work smarter, continue to come up with incredible projects, collaborate with good people, know what’s out there and constantly remember that the medium I work with will be around forever – may reach millions, may inspire others to look beyond themselves, so I’ll move forward giving it my all with the best intentions.

2. What other positions have you held within television production?

Like most, it’s been an upward climb and always will be…I’ve worked in the agency mailroom, moved up to being the assistant and then to various positions in production, always learning more and more about what it takes to run a good show.

3. How long have you been in reality television production?

About 5 years. I always knew that I wanted to work in entertainment. After graduating college I assisted a friend with her documentary, sparking my interest in film and television and I’ve since worked on many projects, almost wearing every hat along the way.

4. How did you get the position you have now?

By hustling! Learn fast, make smart moves and meet the right people. Really, it comes down to working smarter, not harder.

5. What is your career goal within the business?

My life goal is to be happy! Making great quality shows that teach and inspire makes me very happy.

6. Describe how you feel working within entertainment.

I love what I do, when I’m doing what I love. Being a producer, sometimes you get an amazing gig on a show that you believe in and get to work with a great crew. Other times, you need to take a gig that may not be your ideal but will pay your rent. To me, it’s all a learning experience.

[singlepic id=1831 w=420 h=340 float=right]

7. Aside from your production job, what other ventures are you pursuing?

I’ve held many jobs from artist manager to event planner to holistic chef. To this day, I still dabble in a little bit of everything. As a producer, it’s good to know how to do many things.

8. If you were not in television production, what line work would you be in?

If I wasn’t a TV producer I’d probably run Yoga retreats all over the world, spending my life traveling to each and every one … or a chef who spent my life studying world cuisine, yum! In college I majored in Ethnic Studies/Cultural Anthropology and then went on to get an MBA in international business. I wasn’t set on a specific career, rather, wanted to learn about the world as I figured out my place in it.

9. What’s the best/hardest thing about working within production?

The best thing is working on an amazing show and having an amazing experience…. For me, that would be something like (I’m imagining this by the way) Anthony Bourdain’s, No Reservations where I travel everywhere and sample food all over the world. The hardest is when you get a show that’s a complete disaster from the start, you’re working insane hours, nobody is happy, the energy is bad and you can’t wait for it all to be over.

10. What do most people assume about your career?

That reality TV is “garbage.” I think there are definitely what I call, “crap shows”, but there are also a lot of amazing reality shows that teach and inspire.

11. What would you suggest to women working to gain a career in entertainment?

Be smart, strategize where you see yourself and how you’d like to get there, learn how to hustle without being bitchy (a lot of women producers somehow get that reputation:), remain humble and know your worth! Entertainment is the first place where people will take advantage and being a woman in this business, it’s important that you learn to hold your ground, roll with the punches yet stand up for yourself when its necessary. Though I wasn’t a film or communications major, I recommend studying film and TV to both learn and start the networking process early on. Additionally, getting an internship at a production company with a lot going on as well as a lot of potential, would be a VERY smart move.

Coi Mattison; Casting Associate

[singlepic id=1833 w=520 h=440 float=left]

1. What’s your AMMO?

Motherhood. My daughter makes me want to be great. When I look at her I want to give her a chance at everything the world has to offer. She is the reason I keep trying, even if it seems unattainable.

2. What other positions have you held within television production?

I have also worked as a researcher, casting recruiter, canting assistant and pa.

3. How long have you been in reality television production?

On and off for about 6 years. I was in college and unemployed and my friend referred me for a job at MTV. I worked as a Casting Recruiter for a dating show.

4. How did you get the position you have now?

Currently I’m in between jobs but my last position was as a Casting Associate for the ABC show “Supernanny”. I acquired the job by submitting my resume to Realitystaff.com. I started as a Casting Assistant and was later promoted to Associate. I was with the company for a year and a half.

5. What is your career goal within the business?

I’d like to eventually become a Casting Director. I love the process of finding the right personality to fit a show concept.

6. Describe how you feel working within entertainment.

I remember the first time I saw my name scroll by on a television screen; it was the most fulfilling thing ever. Knowing that I was a key part of putting together a show that millions of people were watching was a crazy feeling. It’s an indescribable high.

[singlepic id=1839 w=420 h=340 float=right]

7. Aside from your production job, what other ventures are you pursuing?

I’m what you would call a jack-of-all-trades. I do everything from hair to music. Currently I’m a singer/songwriter and graphic designer.

8. If you we’re not in television production, what line work would you be in?

I’d be a full-time graphic designer still pursuing music. Music is in my heart and I feel its what I’m supposed to do. Unfortunately nothing is guaranteed so you have to explore all avenues on your road to success. I was a Communications major with an emphasis in P.R. and Speech minor. I thought I wanted to be a publicist but once I graduated I never wanted to write another press release again. I will say that I’m glad I have the skill, just in case I need a fall back plan.

9. What’s the best/hardest thing about working within production?

Production allows you a lot of flexibility and is usually a very cool and laid back work setting. You can pretty much wear what you want and your co-workers usually end up as your friends. The downfall of production is the lack of schedule. There are no set hours. You can get off at 6 or 8…just depends on what needs to be done.

10. What do most people assume about your career?

That it’s mostly play and not much work. A lot of people don’t realize the stress of putting a show together cause all they see is the end result.

11. What would you suggest to women working to gain a career in entertainment? What steps would you suggest they take to begin their career?

I’d say take a PA position or an internship and build relationships. The industry is solely based on who you know and your relationship with them.

Lyric Ramsey; Lead Assistant Editor

[singlepic id=1838 w=520 h=440 float=left]

1. What’s your AMMO?

My ammo is self-motivation. I would have to say that my Dad who passed away before I really started working on my career is my AMMO. I always keep him with me, when I’m approaching a new adventure or a new job title. If he were alive he would be my corner man, giving me guidance on how to knock down the next challenge or obstacle in my way.

2. What other positions have you held within television production?

I’ve held several positions; I’ve worked my way up from the bottom, starting as a production assistant, to logger, to assistant editor.

3. How long have you been in reality television production?

I graduated from Howard University in 2005, and the second day back in Los Angeles, I got a P.A. job on a reality show. I’ve always had a love for television. I knew early on that it was the medium that I wanted some direct influences on, so I went to school to study film and television. Learning television and getting a job are two very different experiences. It wasn’t until I moved back to Los Angeles to start my career; I realize how different I was from everyone else working in the industry. I was young, a woman, and African-American. I wanted to become a producer when I first got out of college, but as I started to meet other producers and work more in the business, I realized how subjective that title was to who you knew, and I didn’t know anyone. So the best advice I received was to learn a skill, and no one could ever look pass you if you have talent. So I learned how to edit. With editing, you have a skill, and you can take that and work anywhere in this business.

4. How did you get the position you have now?

I got my first job by fate, or what my friends and I call “Favor”. The term comes from the church, and it’s all about being in Gods grace. I had just graduated from Howard, not a penny in my pocket, pot to piss in, or a care in the world. I guess I knew I would be just fine. It was my second day back in Los Angeles, and I was at the hair salon to get a fresh press. This particular day was unique, because there were producers and camera crews walking around. Something in me (probably the boot-camp known as Howard University) summons up the courage to ask one of the guys what he was doing on Crenshaw Blvd in the middle of Leimert Park. The guy was surprised by how eager and engaging I was, and how willing I was to work for free once he told me he was working on a reality show in that location. Long story short, he asked for my number, and about 20 minutes after he left he hired me as a production assistance, and I’ve been working in this industry every since.

5. What is your career goal within the business?

I create short-term goals in this business. When I was 21, my first goal was to get a check that was over one thousand dollars. I knew that would make my Dad proud. Once, I accomplished that, my next goal was to be a boss, to be in charge of a team of people. My next goal is to be a successful, highly regarded, in demand, editor. I’m working on that currently.

6. Describe how you feel working within entertainment.

I love what I do. I love seeing my name in the credits of a show. You get a sense of fulfillment when you tell someone what you do, and his or her faces light up, because everyone loves television. Also, the best thing is when I’m working on a difficult scene, that’s kicking my butt, and I finally figure it out! A rush comes over me; I feel a sense of satisfaction for overcoming a challenge. I compare editing to working on a puzzle; you have to see the bigger picture when only given a piece of footage at a time. The more you practice at it you learn the skills to make the pieces fit just right.

[singlepic id=1832 w=420 h=340 float=right]

7. Aside from your production job, what other ventures are you pursuing?

I feel like I’m a jack-of-all-trades, I try to be around all things creative that is, music, fashion, and art. I’m a dancer at heart, so I take some classes when I have the time. I also party promote, trying to create a new scene for Women of Color in the LGTB community.

8. If you we’re not in television production, what line work would you be in?

If I was not working in television, I would either been a musical engineer or a fashion stylist.

9. What’s the best/hardest thing about working within production?

The best thing about editing for me is creating this story. Editors take reality moments void of structure, and sculpt out a drama, comedy or a romance, to entertain the viewers.

10. What do most people assume about your career?

I think most people assume its all fun. When you tell a person you work in television, they have no concept how much work goes into make it seem effortless. Editors are always up against the craziest deadlines; we spend days, nights, and weekends to make the show just right. Editors are the unsung heroes of the television industry. Producers have all their ideas that they think are perfect, but it’s the work of the editor who take what they really capture and makes it into a show!

11. What would you suggest to women working to gain a career in entertainment?

My field is full of men, and I think there is a belief that women are not as skilled at being editors. So I was suggest working hard at being on top of your game. The industry is very competitive, so check your emotions at the door, be willing and ready to work hard. Someone coming in to post should expect to work nights, to work 15 hour days, to feel constant pressure and to always check your work. Also, it doesn’t hurt to be likeable, and eager to learn something new everyday.

Jennie Goosby; Freelance Segment Producer

[singlepic id=1828 w=520 h=440 float=left]

1. What’s your AMMO?

My AMMO is my parents. They are extremely supportive. Without them, I would have never had the motivation or the money to move out to LA in the first place. They never make me feel like I made the wrong career choice, even when I’m between jobs.

2. What other positions have you held within television production?

Associate Producer, Assistant Story Editor, Production Coordinator, Script Supervisor, & Assistant to Executive Producer

3. How long have you been in reality television production?

Going on 8 years. I decided I wanted to work in television when I was in middle school. From an early age, I always wanted to work in entertainment. My mom turned me on to the TV show Seinfeld and my mind was made up from there. My first job in production was an internship. I split my weeks between Fox Family (now ABC Family) in their promo department, and the CBS soap The Bold & The Beautiful. My first paid job was a year later as the assistant to the co-executive producer on The Amazing Race, Hayma “Screech” Washington. He taught me a lot.

4. How did you get the position you have now?

I earned my latest position simply by asking for it. I always want to keep learning so to keep it fresh so I asked for a chance as the international segment producer.

5. What is your career goal within the business?

My career goal is to develop and produce television shows. I love docu-soap reality shows and reality shows that showcase talent. I would also like to see the sitcom make a real comeback. It’s slowly on its way back.

6. Describe how you feel working within entertainment.

I pursue shows that I think would be interesting so that gives me a sense of fulfillment. I can’t imagine working on a show that I didn’t believe in at all at the end of the end of the day. I hope it never comes to that.

[singlepic id=1830 w=420 h=340 float=right]

7. Aside from your production job, what other ventures are you pursuing?

Aside from production, I’m pursuing more writing to fulfill my creative side. My friend, Jessica & I took our love for writing and happy hours to start The Happy Hour Tour (www.TheHappyHourTour.com). The economy has been awful to a lot of different people, and some assume people because I work in entertainment that I’m rich and that’s not true. The Happy Hour Tour has been a great way to remain creative, maintain a social life, & become a resource for those who can’t afford to go big on a Friday night.

8. If you we’re not in television production, what line work would you be in?

If I were not in television production, I would be an event planner. I’m extremely organized and I love to be social. I minored in public relations in the event that my career went in that direction. I majored in television production. I never had another thought about what I thought I would be doing. Some people want to work in film, but fell into television. I always wanted to work in television.

9. What’s the best/hardest thing about working within production?

The best thing about working in production is having someone say “great job” and be happy with my work at the end of a long day. Whether it’s the talent, an executive, or member of the crew, it’s a great feeling to know that you pulled off a great shoot. I’ve also made a lot of great friends due to the bonding of production. The hardest thing about production is not knowing what the next job will be.

10. What do most people assume about your career?

From my career, most people assume that I don’t have to look for work. I’ve worked on a lot of great shows with a lot of great people but that doesn’t mean that the next the job is waiting around the corner for me.

11. What would you suggest to women working to gain a career in entertainment?

To women looking to get in the entertainment industry, be social! You could have the best resume but unless you’re networking people might not pay much attention. Let people know that you’re looking, meet people for coffee, go to events, etc. You never know who knows someone to get you a job.

Juliana Severo; Production Manager

[singlepic id=1827 w=520 h=440 float=left]

1. What’s your AMMO?

A challenge. I never turn down a challenge that comes my way.

2. What other positions have you held within television production?

I feel like I’ve worked across the board from PA to Executive Assistant to Travel Coordinator and more. But what’s great about Production is that once you think you’ve experienced it all there’s so much ore waiting for you behind the next door.

3. How long have you been in reality television production?

Too long! You get so caught up in the drama, the characters and their stories, it’s all so addicting to “product” and watch (uh hmmm Jersey Shore *cough*). I knew I was going to work in Television Production when I was accepting an Oscar in my living room at age 6 and thanking the academy for voting me through! My father introduced me to the television studios and the extravagant life of production at a young age. Bonus: Knowing what I wanted to do helped speed up the college application process! My First job was at ABC’s Denver 7 News as a news assistant. Driving around in search of news stories, waiting in front of the court house for hours, interviewing the governor on topics I had very little knowledge on… I knew it wasn’t for me.

4. How did you get the position you have now?

Tiffany Hoss. That’s all it takes, one EIC to give you a chance to prove yourself. Not only did she trust me as her “first time” PM, she threw me on a huge network show! OH, how quickly I learned the ropes with very little room for mistakes. It was intense and challenging but I am forever thankful to her. There’s something inspiring yet intimidating when a female is in charge of a show, the budget, and 100+ crew members on her set.

5. What is your career goal within the business?

To get out! Just Kidding… I’m not sure yet, the options are endless. I’d like to find a show that inspires me, that provides me stability and that I enjoy working on and eventually make my way to the top. It’s been 10 years and I’m still looking…

6. Describe how you feel working within entertainment.

Working in entertainment is rough but interesting. Everyday is a new scene, a different location or country perhaps, and talent. Sometimes we take advantage of what our job has to offer and we forget bow lucky we are; it’s not a 9 to 5 job and we don’t sit in a cubicle all day (Although “The Office” does make that appealing!) You make some good [shows] and some bad ones. In the end, they all serve the same purpose…to entertain. If you can sit on the couch and laugh or learn something new then we’ve done our job.

[singlepic id=1837 w=420 h=340 float=right]

7. Aside from your production job, what other ventures are you pursuing?

I don’t have much time for other ventures, but if I did, I would be planning weddings/corporate events. Over the years I’ve learned a lot about managing, scheduling, and dealing with high maintenance. I would be bored without stress and drama.

8. If you we’re not in television production, what line work would you be in?

Entertainment Law. I think about it at the end of each workday. You know, the typical day where you send a fax or two, illegally bring an elephant into the state of NY, and fill out paperwork for the medic because the fire blower caught hair on fire. Oddly enough I majored in Broadcast Production Management. WHo would of thought there was a specific degree for this?! Most colleges generalize this form of work under Journalism, Media Studies, or Film. [My career choice] was production from the beginning, sometimes Law, but more years of studying and testing were never appealing.

9. What’s the best/hardest thing about working within production?

[The Best thing,] craft service. [The hardest thing,] the hours. You have to enjoy the show you are on and the crew that surrounds you because it becomes your life and they become your family. It’s very difficult to maintain friendships and relationships outside of work, because they don’t understand why you can’t return their call at 5am when you’re driving to work and at 2am when you driving home.

10. What do most people assume about your career?

That it’s glamorous. What they forget is that we are behind the camera not in front; which also comes with a lot of work.

11. What would you suggest to women working to gain a career in entertainment?

Networking is key. Meet as many people as you can to get your foot in the door. Prepare yourself to start at the bottom of the chain and make sacrifices along the way. I advise you to ask as many questions as you can for you can’t learn “Live Set Scenarios” from a book. Expose yourself to all the positions as show has to offer before finding your niche. When you know what you want to do it’s easier to achieve your goal.

– Ashley Walker

Power: Women in Production

Leave a comment